Home > Uncategorized > Korean Consulate, B&H Photo, and Flight Information

Korean Consulate, B&H Photo, and Flight Information

Consulate General of the Republic of Korea in NYC

My contract and Notice of appointment arrived  yesterday at 10:30. Finally! I really can’t believe it. All the documentation I’ve had to get the interviews, the hurrying up and then the waiting. All of it is over. I got the contract and felt a brief sense of relief. I’m starting. This is getting real fast.

I quickly made copies of everything, got all the materials i’d need for my visa application, and hightailed it to NYC. When I got there, on the elevator up the 6th floor, everyone’s talking Korean. When I walk through the door of the consulate (See the pic to the left), it hits me. Everyone in the room is Korean. most of the posters on the wall are in Korean, some of them have English below them. There is a guy with a white sash in Korean who appears to be an information rep. He spots me and asks if I need any help. I explain why I’m here and show him my docs. He acknowledges that they’re all in order and refers me to one of the lines.

The place basically looks like a Korean DMV.

B&H Photo – Where Hasidim go to sell you cameras

There were 2 people in front of me and I waited about 20 minutes until it was my turn. I presented my docs, paid the $45 application fee, handed over my passport and was given a small voucher indicating my pickup time will be Thursday 8/16/2012 at 3:00 pm. The whole process took about 10 minutes.

From the embassy, I went to B&H photo to get a camera. The B&H experience is a weird one, that is unless you’re used to Hasidim everywhere. B&H photo is the largest non-chain photo and video equipment store in the United States. When you first walk in, you are hit with the impact of how large this place is. It’s basically the size of a department store, but this department store is run mostly by men with in big beards, long sideburns and big velvet beanies on their heads.

I already had a camera in mind, so I went directly to the digital camera department and met the woman at the kiosk and received a slip for the camera I wanted, the Nikon SE9300, which cost $260, $40 bucks cheaper than Microcenter. From the kiosk, I was advised to go to the side desk where a man in a beard and a velvet yarmulka reviewed my purchase and asked me if I wanted to buy a kit including an sd card, case, and a protection plan, which I declined. From there I was pointed to a cashier downstairs where I paid for my purchase and then finally, I was pointed to the merchandise desk, where I picked up my camera. Though it sounds tedious, the entire process probably took 15 minutes,  not bad for the price I was paying.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Glow
    August 15, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    =) yayyy im glad everything is going well as u planned. just a few more days till your in korea. remember to dream big! u can accomplish anything you want if you believe in it.

  2. August 20, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    Thanks for visiting B&H Photo. It’s true that many of our employees are Hasidic but our staff overall is as diverse as NYC itself. I think our Hasidic staffers are more noticeable due to clothes and hair styles, but looking around I’m sure you’ll see the overall variety.
    — Henry Posner / B&H Photo-Video

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

